Home : Village Board : Meeting Minutes

Selected Meeting Minutes
Minutes of a Monthly Meeting
Jul 08, 2013


Monthly Board Meeting Minutes

Monday, July 8, 2013


Trustees of the Village of Brandon, Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin met in the Village of Brandon Board Room on Monday, July 8, 2013 at 7:18 pm.   


President Steve Tetzlaff called the meeting to order and presided.  Village Clerk Corinne Vande Zande recorded the minutes of the meeting.


The following trustees were present: Diane Horvath, Annette Henker, Carole DeCramer, Dave Tarr, Kurt Krohn and Michael Walgenbach. 


The following were present in the audience:  Library Director Christy Ross; Library Board President, Kevin DeCramer; Public Works Director Vance Henning; and Police Chief Tom Dornbrook (arrived 7:44 p.m.).


The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all those present.


On a motion by Trustees DeCramer/Tarr, unanimously carried on a roll call vote, the Board approved the July 2013 payments as attached.


On a motion by Trustees DeCramer/Krohn, unanimously passed on a voice vote, the Board approved the minutes of the June 10, 2013 monthly meeting with one correction.


Village Updates:

Library Director, Christina Ross, gave her monthly report on the following items: 

1) Summer reading program. 2) Lego Club. 3) Future fundraising. 4) Request by someone to use the upstairs room. 5) The Carolyn Dahlke nook.


Library Board President, Kevin DeCramer, reported the last Rosendale/Brandon School District Board approved an agreement between the school district and the Library for the purchase of Legos, some of which may be programmable.


Trustee Horvath reported the Fire Departments raffle did very well.  A woman from Van Dyne won the raffle and chose to keep the truck versus taking the cash.


Department of Public Works Director, Vance Henning, reported on the following items:  1) The cameras for the park will be installed the 17th and 18th of July. 2) He thanked everyone that assisted with the Veteran’s Memorial project.  The dedication had a good turnout and also received half a dozen more names for the memorial.  3) Henning met with a DNR representative regarding the Village’s burning permit.  It was noted if the compost site gets larger a permit for composting will be needed.


Police Chief Tom Dornbrook gave his monthly report on the following items: 1) New parking signs. 2) Grass clippings in the street. 3) Mowing in the subdivision.


Trustee Krohn reported he did not get a chance to speak with Dean Tillema regarding the TIF and the funds available.


Old Business:

President Tetzlaff reported the State Act 20 bill has been passed regarding extending levy limits to cover certain fees.  Trustees Henker and Walgenbach reported their findings after talking to Village residents on going to a fee based garbage pickup.  President Tetzlaff will speak with Attorney Wurtz regarding writing an ordinance to apply to the Act 20 bill.  Item to be re-tabled next month.


Trustee DeCramer presented changes to Chapter 12 - Park Ordinance.  Upon discussion it was determined not to allow dogs in any areas of the Depot Park.  There was discussion on allowing a farmers market on the east side of the tracks at the Depot Park.  On a motion by DeCramer/Henker, unanimously passed on a roll call vote, the Board approved rescinding the existing Chapter 12 ordinance and adopting the presented Chapter 12 ordinance with the change to the application and adding a farmers market on the east side of the tracks.  Sellers must register with the police department.


New Business:

On a motion by Trustees DeCramer/Tarr, passed unanimously on a voice vote, the Board approved Angie Smit as a Zoning Board member.


Trustee DeCramer suggested the Board review the financial reports and budget at each meeting.


Trustee Walgenbach reviewed the Independent Auditor’s Report provided by Westra, Tillema, & O’Connor and noted he would like to see a summary on the findings.


No other business came before the Board.  On a motion by DeCramer/Tarr, unanimously passed on a voice vote, the Board adjourned at 9:21 p.m.

Archive View all from: 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011